Glass

It’s been about two years since I started glassblowing in late spring of 2015. I apprenticed in a garage in a outlying suburb that I used to commute to by train. It was around 90 minutes each way and I used to wake up at 5 a.m. on Mondays so I could make it out there. Then I would blow glass until my kiln was full or I was spent and then wait on it all cooling down. By the time I was heading home it was either late Monday night or early Tuesday morning. Then I would go to my day job and work 40 hours over the next 6 days there before doing it all over again. That’s how I knew it was the art form for me. The last 3 years have been chaotic to say the least, so I haven’t gotten nearly as much time on the torch as I would like but no other medium has ever spoke to me like glass has. I have a long way to go but I press on knowing that the magic is in the practice.

Leave a Reply

